Author Topic: How is a Photographers life onboard  (Read 13182 times)

Offline domnicjohnson

• Registered
    • View Profile
How is a Photographers life onboard
« on: 15/May/2009 »
Hi Friends,

I just completed my graduation in BFA Photography,and i am a freelance Photographer from past few years, i am now looking to career in Cruse line as a Photographer.. and if would be of great help for me if anyone could give me some tips and tell me how life is for a photographer on cruise...

Thanks in Advance...
Domnic.

Online CEO

• Administrator
  • Registered
  • Chief Executive Officer
    • View Profile
Re: How is a Photographers life onboard
« Reply #1 on: 15/May/2009 »
Domnic, there has been lot said on croatian version, and I hope someone will clarify this position in english too ..

I'll recap it for you:
Long hours and pressure to sell as many photos to guests as possible.
Many photographers don't like the fact that cruise companies are forcing them to walk around dining rooms and interrupt people while eating, only to shoot more photos, and possibly sell more.
A good number of East Europeans does not mind that, and some of them have accepted that practice in order to live a lifestyle of a "cruise the world and make money" idea.
However, that might be a good deal for East Europe candidates, but probably not so for USA or GB citizen.
European agencies are hiring even unexperianced personall, who never had an expensive photo camera in their hand, as long as they show will to do the job and sell for the company. It is all about the money.
I guess your qualifications can help you get the job, ut be prepared for a lot of work.
There are no US citizen in Photo dpt. onboard cruisers, except for photo manager maybe.
And another thing ... you would have to share very small cabin with your work mate.

How badly do you need the job?
Odavno ne plovim. Sve odgovore pronađite na forumu.
http://youtu.be/gABS8a4wm9o (door=forum, ja Morpheus ti Neo)

Offline domnicjohnson